
FAQ

MISTS OVER CARCASSONNE

No. The starting tile represents 4 regular-sized tiles. So if you forego the scoring and remove ghosts instead, you 
have to choose 1 quarter (regular-sized tile) from which the ghosts are removed.

See rulebook p. 2

See rulebook p. 5

See rulebook p. 6, 8

See rulebook p. 6

See rulebook p. 6

See rulebook p. 3

See rulebook p. 11

Yes. You can place a meeple on a road, even if the road is covered by mist. 
In this version meeple cannot be farmers, so you cannot place a meeple on a field (regardless whether the  
field is covered by mist or not).

Yes. Instead of scoring, you can remove up to 3 ghosts from exactly 1 tile of your choice.  
This can also be a cemetery.

No. A joint scoring counts as 1 scoring. So chosing to remove ghosts means not getting any points.

In a 2 player game, each of you plays with 6 meeple in 2 colors (3 per color). You place 1 meeple of a not used color on the scoring track. 
In a solo game, you play with 12 meeple in 4 colors (3 per color). You place 1 meeple of a not used color on the scoring track. 

Example for a 2 player game: Player 1 takes 3 yellow and 3 green meeple. Player 2 takes 3 pink and 3 blue meeple.  
You take 1 black meeple and put it on the scoring track as your joint scoring meeple. You return the rest of the meeple.

You score a dog immediately after scoring the meeple to which you added the dog.  
Its color indicates which color gets the points for the dog.

Yes. Unlike in the base game, it does not matter how many meeple of one  
color are in 1 region. Instead, for each color that is involved, you get as many 
points as usual. 

Does the starting tile count as 1 tile?

Can I place a meeple on a road covered by mist?

Can I remove ghosts from a cemetery instead of scoring?

Can I choose to remove ghosts instead of taking the points from one color in a joint scoring?

How does the setup for solo and 2 player game work?

Level 6: Which color gets points if I score the dog?

Do I get points for joint scoring even if one meeple color has 
the majority in the scored region?

Each of you gets 
6 points for the 
road, so 12 in 
total.

You close the city.  
After scoring it,  
you score Rufus.  

You move the red 
scoring meeple 

forward.



EXPANSION: GHOSTS, CASTLES AND CEMETERIES

Limit the mist: If you place a tile (with or without mist on it) such that at 
least 1 misty side is placed next to a mist-free side of a tile, you limit the 
mist. You must then add 1 ghost to 1 of your own meeple on the 
game board.
It can happen that you simultaneously expand one mist bank while  
limiting another. In that case you must first add 1 ghost to another  
player’s meeple on the game board, after which you must add 1 ghost to 
one of your own meeple on the game board.

See extra sheet p. 2

See extra sheet p. 2

See extra sheet p. 3

Yes. If you place a tile with mist on it such that at least 1 side expands an existing mist bank, you must add 1 ghost to  
another player‘s meeple of your choice. The place of the meeple on the game board does not matter (so it can be a knight, a 
farmer, a cemetery keeper, and so on). 

You cannot add ghosts to a guard meeple  .

Yes. If the cemetery is completely surrounded, you trigger a scoring as usual. In this case, you take a guard meeple  of your 
color from the stock, instead of getting points. If there are added ghosts next to your cemetery keeper when it is scored, you get 
-2 points per ghost as usual.

What happens when I limit an existing mist on the game board by placing a tile?

Can I add ghosts to meeple on cemeteries and castles?

Do I get negative points when scoring a cemetery keeper to which ghosts have been added?

See rulebook p. 11

Yes and no. 
Unfortunately, we made a mistake in the setup of level 6. As a result, level 6 is way to difficult for 2, 4, 5 players and when played solo.  
We apologize for that!
With the following change you should have a fair chance:
Independed from the number of players, you take 3 meeple in 3 colors, which take part in the game. You place these as scoring meeple on 
space 0/50 of the scoring track. You choose the colors.
Note: In a solo and 2 player game, you don‘t take the 3 scoring meeple from your stock, but from the box.
If you score points in a color that has no corresponding scoring meeple (so ne meeple of that color on the scoring track), you can move a 
scoring meeple of your choice.

Is Level 6 impossible?

You connect the two cities and score it. Yellow and red
both get 6 points. Your scoring meeple have the colors yellow ,  

green and pink .  
Therefore, you can choose which color gets the points.  

You decide for green .  You move the yellow and the green  
scoring meeple 6 spaces forward. 

You place a tile such that you 
expand (1) and limit (2) the 

mist simultaneously. 
Therefore, you place 1 ghost 

to another player‘s meeple 
, then place 1 ghost 

next to your own  
meeple.
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